"Sharing is a huge benefit" -- Teacher Aoife Lawler on tech in school

Q: Dear Aoife - how are you? how are you feeling? and what are you working on at the moment?

Hi, I’m great, thanks! It's been so fantastic to be able to be back in the classroom with the kids all together. We are at a lovely point in the school year now, where the kids have socially settled back in and we can really start to learn about how to be good learners. Our 1/2 classes are learning about festivals and celebrations, and it is my favourite time of year for this – lots of candles and fireworks! As English coordinator, I am working on our phonics and writing programs, and in my spare time I am also studying for my Master's in Education and learning Portuguese!

Q: Please tell us a little bit about yourself? Where are you from? What is your background? how long are your at BBS? How did you find your way to BBS?

I’m Irish originally (my name is pronounced 'ee-fa', for those who don't know!), but from my early teenage years lived in London and in the North of England. I did my undergraduate degree in English literature and philosophy, then my PCGE, both in Lancaster, and my final placement in my training took me back down to East London, where I worked as a Year 3 and Year 1 teacher for three years in a well-funded, tech-savvy and very supportive school. I then moved to Berlin to take a break from teaching, working as a cleaner and at the bar in a hostel, which was a very important time for my mental health after the stress of London! Once I decided I missed teaching and wanted to return, BBS was the first and only place I applied! I visited for my interview and fell in love with the ethos and the people. I have been working at BBS since early 2017 – around four and a half years in 5th and 6th grade and then I moved down two floors to teach 1st and 2nd grade this August.

Q: The Parents said you did brilliantly during the first Corona waves. How did you get that reputation?